How Often to Replace Brush Heads, and Whether Third-Party Heads Are Fine

Short answer

The ADA says every three to four months, or sooner if the bristles are matted or frayed; most makers say three. Genuine heads in this catalog run from about $3 to $10 each. Third-party heads can be cheaper, but they are not the product the maker's figures, or any ADA listing, describe.

The interval

The ADA's guidance is to replace a toothbrush every three to four months, or more often if the bristles are visibly matted or frayed. Most makers here state three months; AquaSonic says its heads last four, and Oclean says two to three for its Ease heads. Several handles remind you: Sonicare's BrushSync, Oral-B's refill alerts, and colour-fading bristles on Oral-B's kids' heads.

What genuine heads cost

Every per-head price below is the maker's lowest per-unit price on a genuine multipack that fits, from its own store. This is the figure the three-year cost is built on.

Head familyPer headMaker's intervalPack
AquaSonic standard$3.124 monthsAquaSonic Standard Replacement Brush Heads 8-pack, $24.95 on aquasonic.com
Oclean Ease$3.502 monthsOclean Ease Series refills 2-count, $6.99 on oclean.com
Oclean adult heads$4.173 monthsOclean Professional Clean 6-count, $24.99 on oclean.com
Philips One$4.98not stated (3 assumed)Philips One 2-pack brush heads (BH1022/01), $9.96 on usa.philips.com
AquaSonic Icon$4.98not stated (3 assumed)AquaSonic Icon Replacement Brush Heads 2-pack, $9.95 on aquasonic.com
Oral-B round click-on (non-iO)$53 monthsOral-B Daily Clean 8-count, $39.99 on oralb.com
BURST Nova$53 monthsBURST Nova Replacement Heads 2-pack, $10 on burstoralcare.com
Laifen Pro Series$5not stated (3 assumed)Laifen Pro Series Brush Heads 6-pack, $29.99 on us.laifentech.com
Sonicare click-on$6.663 monthsSonicare SimplyClean 6-pack (HX6016/77), $39.96 on usa.philips.com
Oral-B iO$7.223 monthsOral-B iO Ultimate Clean 9-count, $64.99 on oralb.com
Snow LED (Gen 2)$7.333 monthsSnow LED replacement heads (Gen 2) 6-pack, $44 on trysnow.com
Waterpik Sonic-Fusion$7.50not stated (3 assumed)Sonic-Fusion Compact Replacement Flossing Brush Heads 4-pack, $29.99 on store.waterpik.com
BURST Pro$83 monthsBURST Pro Brush Replacement Heads 3-pack, $24 on burstoralcare.com
BURST Curve$83 monthsBURST Curve Brush Replacement Head, $8 each on burstoralcare.com (sold singly)
BURST Kids$83 monthsBURST Kids Replacement Head, $8 each on burstoralcare.com (sold singly)
quip Sonic$93 monthsquip Extra Soft Brush Head Refill 4-pack, $36 on getquip.com
quip Ultra EasyClick pod$93 monthsquip Ultra EasyClick Brush Pod 4-pack, $36 on getquip.com
quip Rev$93 monthsquip Rev Oscillating Brush Head 4-pack, $36 on getquip.com
Oral-B Kids$9.503 monthsOral-B Kids Extra Soft 2-count, $18.99 on oralb.com
Sonicare for Kids$9.983 monthsSonicare For Kids Age 3+ 2-pack (HX6032/94), $19.96 on usa.philips.com

Third-party heads

Non-genuine heads for Oral-B and Sonicare handles are widely sold for a fraction of the maker's price. This site does not list or price them. Three things change when you use one: the head is a different product from the one the maker's specifications and cleaning claims were written about; a handle's ADA Seal listing was earned with the maker's own heads, so it does not extend to someone else's; and some makers' warranty terms exclude damage caused by non-genuine parts, so read your handle's warranty before switching.

Fit is the other practical issue. Sonicare's click-on heads and Oral-B's non-iO round heads each fit a whole range of handles, but Oral-B iO heads fit only iO handles, and quip, BURST, Laifen and Philips One heads each fit only their own family.

Sources

Maker claims quoted on this page are the maker’s own and are labelled as such. This page is general information, not dental or medical advice.

Brushes this comes up with

Related

  • Are Subscription and Battery Brushes Worth It?

    The handle is cheap; the heads are not always. Over three years the heads decide the cost. The subscription brands in this catalog sell optional auto-ship at the same prices as buying heads outright, so there is no required fee to add, but their heads are some of the dearest per unit.

  • What the ADA Seal of Acceptance Means on an Electric Toothbrush

    It means the ADA's Council on Scientific Affairs reviewed evidence the maker submitted and found the product safe and effective for what the listing says, typically removing plaque and helping to prevent and reduce gingivitis. It is awarded per product. 14 of the 53 brushes here have a live listing on the ADA's own search.

  • How to read a toothbrush spec sheet

    Every specification explained, with the real numbers from the catalog behind each one.